SCREEN-L Archives

October 1994


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Film and TV Studies Discussion List <[log in to unmask]>
Gorham A Kindem <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 4 Oct 1994 17:11:00 EDT
Film and TV Studies Discussion List <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (28 lines)
I will be directing a summer study abroad program, focussing
upon British and Scandinavian film and television, between
June 5 and June 30, 1995.  Students can receive 6 hours of
course credit by enrolling in two courses: Com. Studies 151,
International Film and Television, and Com. Studies 143,
History of Film.  In previous summer study abroad programs that
I have directed, guest lecturers included the following: Colin
McCabe, Geoffrey Nowell-Smith, Ian Christie, Annette Kuhn, Roy
Armes, Phillip Drummond, David Buckingham, Robert Ferguson,
Birgitta Steene, Bjorn Sorenssen, Anna Marit Maursted, Stig
Kulset, Anna Celsing Roe, and Keith Roe.  Com Studies 151
examines British and Scandinavian film and television with
particular attention to comparisons and contrast with the U.S.
in general and Hollywood in particular.  Com Studies 143 examines
the emergence of national cinemas from the standpoints of aesthetic,
economic, social, and technological film histories with particular
attention to developments in British and Scandinavian cinema. For
further information about this program and to receive a brochure,
itinerary, and application form, contact Summer School, 200
Pettigrew Hall, CB#3340, University of North Carolina at Chapel
Hill, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3340.  (919) 966-4364
Enrollment begins today, October 4, 1994, and is essentially the
same for all students, in-state and out-of-state, UNC and nonUNC,
graduate and undergraduate.  There is no penality, financial or
otherwise for being a nonUNC out-of-state student, since the program
takes place overseas at two primary locations: Central London,
England, and the University of Trondheim, Norway.