SCREEN-L Archives

January 1995, Week 1


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Jeremy Butler <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Film and TV Studies Discussion List <[log in to unmask]>
Mon, 2 Jan 1995 16:05:58 CST
text/plain (39 lines)
Author:  [log in to unmask]
Date:    12/29/94 8:08 AM
[Editor's note:  This message was submitted to SCREEN-L by the "Author" noted
above, and not by Jeremy Butler ([log in to unmask]).]
Sender:       Oral History Association Discussion List <[log in to unmask]>
The Oral History Association announces the inauguration of an awards program to
recognize outstanding work in oral history in several categories.  In 1995 and
subsequent odd-numbered years, three awards will be made:  for a book that
draws upon oral history in a significant way or significantly advances under-
standing of important theoretical issues in oral history; for a nonprint format
production, including film, video, radio program or series, exhibition, or
drama, that makes significant use of oral history to interpret a historical
subject; and to a precollegiate teacher who has made exemplary use of oral
history in the classroom.
In 1996 and subsequent even-numbered years, awards will be made for a published
article or essay that either uses oral history to advance an important
historical interpretation or addresses significant theoretical or
methodological issues; for a completed oral history project that has
significant scholarly value and exemplifies sound oral history methodology;
and to a college or university professor who has made outstanding use of oral
history in the classroom.
Awards are honorific and will be announced at the Association's annual meeting,
in 1995 in Milwaukee, October 19-22; in 1996, in Philadelphia, October 10-13.
The Association welcomes entries and nominations from academic scholars,
public history institutions and practitioners, independent professionals,
and community-based groups and individuals.
For guidelines and submission information, write Dr. Rebecca Sharpless,
Executive Secretary, Oral History Association, Box 97271, Baylor University,
Waco, Texas 76798-7271. (E-mail: [log in to unmask])  (Phone: 817-755-2764)
Deadline for submissions for the three 1995 awards is April 1, 1995.