SCREEN-L Archives

January 1994


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Film and TV Studies Discussion List <[log in to unmask]>
Tilman Gates <[log in to unmask]>
Fri, 28 Jan 1994 12:58:35 EST
Film and TV Studies Discussion List <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (121 lines)
(For those who may have missed the first announcement in November.)
                     Honoring a Cinema Pioneer
Screenplays of feature-length films are now being accepted for the
first annual T.W. Wharton Screenwriting Awards. The contest is
open to writers who have not had a screenplay purchased by a major
film studio or production company.
Up to five awards will be given on or before June 15, 1994:
          $2,000 first; $1,000 second; $500 third;
                   $300 fourth; $200 fifth.
The entry deadline is February 15, 1994 (postmarked).
The finalist judge will be Susan Granger, a nationally recognized
film critic for more than 25 years. She will also provide each
winner with an individual written critique and marketing
evaluation. Currently Susan Granger's reviews are syndicated
nationally by CRN Radio Network and she is part of American Movie
Classics cable TV.
From 1913-1920, Theodore Wharton and his brother Leopold produced
over 100 silent films in Ithaca, New York at Wharton Studios on
the shores of Cayuga Lake. Theodore Wharton wrote and directed
many of these feature films. Notable actors such as, Irene Castle,
Pearl White, Warner Oland and Lionel Barrymore starred in their
Today, Ithaca continues its ties to the film industry through the
writers, actors and filmmakers who have lived, studied, and worked
there. Including: Mary McDonnell (Oscar nominee for Passion Fish);
John Lithgow (Cliffhanger); Robert Fried (producer, Rudy); and
Sally Robinson (co-writer, Medicine Man).
The T.W. Wharton Screenwriting Awards were established to support
emerging screenwriting talent. Writers living in all regions of
the United States and in other countries are encouraged to apply.
Screenplay entries will be evaluated in several stages by judges
using the following criteria:
     Story concept originality
     Characterization and story structure
     Writing quality
     Formatting and presentation
Processing Fee: $25
Sponsored by Odyssey Media, publisher of AWARDS FOR WRITERS newsletter.
Print the application below or send an SASE for an entry form to:
Screenwriting Awards, Odyssey Media, Box 4437, Ithaca, NY 14852
(copy and paste at the dotted lines to create a one page form)
NAME:_______________________________  PHONE:(____)__________
CITY:_______________________ STATE:_____ ZIP:__________
TITLE OF SCREENPLAY:__________________________________________
NUMBER OF PAGES:_________ GENRE:_______________________________
Submission Rules:
1.The competition is open to writers who have not had a screenplay
purchased by a major film studio or production company.
2.Screenplays written by two or more authors are allowed, but must be
entered under one name only. The division of any award will be arranged
by the authors.
3.The screenplay entered must be the original work of the author(s).
4.Screenplays must be submitted in standard industry format:  90-130
pages in length, copied on three hole punched paper (single sided), and
bound with brads in card stock covers. The author's name, address,
and phone number must appear on the title page.
5.The applicant must enclose a synopsis of the screenplay no longer
than one-page.
6.The applicant must enclose a self-addressed, stamped envelope (#10
business size).
7.Any applicant may submit more than one screenplay, but each
screenplay must be sent with a complete application and processing fee.
8.Author(s) retain all rights to the screenplays submitted.
9.Due to the procedures for processing and judging, screenplays can not
be returned.
10.Awards will be announced to all applicants on or before June 15,
1994. The contest sponsor reserves the right to increase or decrease the
number of awards at its sole discretion.
11.All entries must be postmarked by February 15, 1994 (postmarked).
12.The non-refundable processing fee for each screenplay entered is $25.
US funds only. Make checks or money orders payable to Odyssey Media.
13.Due to the number of applicants, all communications will be handled
through US mail only.
I hereby agree to all of the competition rules and conditions.
SIGNATURE:_____________________________________  DATE:____________
Application check list:
[] Screenplay in standard format
[] Signed and dated application form
[] One page synopsis
[] Processing fee payment
Deadline: February 15, 1994 (postmarked).
Send applications to:
Screenwriting Awards
Odyssey Media
Box 4437
Ithaca,  NY  14852