SCREEN-L Archives

March 1994


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Film and TV Studies Discussion List <[log in to unmask]>
BRIAN TAVES <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 8 Mar 1994 12:02:12 GMT
Film and TV Studies Discussion List <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (122 lines)
      *  The National Film Preservation Act of 1988 (Pub.L. 100-446)
expired on September 27, 1991.  The 1992 Act (Pub.L. 102-307)
reauthorizes the activities of the National Film Preservation Board for
four years--until June 26, 1996.
      *  The mission of the National Film Preservation Act is the
development of a comprehensive national film preservation program.  In
June, 1993, the Librarian of Congress submitted to Congress the results
of a study on the current status of film preservation activities
nationwide.  As a next step, the Librarian--in consultation with the
Board, the nation's other film archives, educators, film industry
representatives, and others--will develop a plan to coordinate national
film preservation efforts--assuring that public and private sector
activities are complementary and generating public awareness of and
support for these activities.
      *  New members were added to the 1988 13-member Board--a
cinematographer, a representative of theater owners, a film archivist,
and two at-large members--bringing the total Board to 18 members.
      *  The Board will continue to select 25 films a year (for 4 more
years--a total of 100 films, plus the 75 selected in the first 3 years).
One copy of each film selected will be collected "in archival quality"
by the Library of Congress for the National Film Registry Collection.
      *  Films will continue to be selected on the basis of their
historical, cultural and aesthetic significance, keeping the requirement
that the film be at least 10 years old.  No longer will films have to be
feature-length or have had a theatrical release in order to be included.
      *  The 1988 labeling requirements, for colorized or materially
altered films, no longer apply to the films in the National Film
                       NATIONAL FILM PRESERVATION BOARD         8/93
A. Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
       Member: Fay Kanin
       Alternate: Robert E. Wise
B.  Directors Guild of America
       Member: Arthur Hiller
       Alternate: Martin Scorsese
C.  The Writers Guild of America
       Member: Jay Presson Allen
       Alternate: Del Reisman
D.  National Society of Film Critics
      Member: David Kehr, New York Daily News
      Alternate: Julie Salamon, The Wall Street Journal
E.  The Society for Cinema Studies
      Member: John Belton
      Alternate: Lucy Fischer
F.  The American Film Institute
      Member: John Ptak
      Alternate: Jill Sackler
G.  The Department of Theater, Film and Television of the College of
    Fine Arts, University of California, Los Angeles
      Member: Bob Rosen
      Alternate: Teshome Gabriel
H.  Department of Film and Television of the Tisch School of the Arts at
   New York University
      Member: William Everson
      Alternate: William Paul
I.  The University Film and Video Association
      Member: Ben Levin
      Alternate: Peter Rainer
J.  The Motion Picture Association of America
      Member: Jack Valenti
      Alternate: Matthew Gerson
K.  The National Association of Broadcasters
      Member: Edward O.   Fritts
      Alternate: Stephen Jacobs
L.  The Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers
      Member: J.   Nicholas Counter III
      Alternate: Carol Lombardini
M.  The Screen Actors Guild of America
      Member: Roddy McDowall
      Alternate: Barry Gordon
N.  The National Association of Theater Owners
      Member: Theodore Pedas
      Alternate: William F.   Kartozian
O.  The American Society of Cinematographers and the International
    Photographers Guild
      Member: Allen Daviau, A.  S.  C.
      Alternate: William A.   Fraker, A.  S.  C.
P.  The United States members of the International Federation of Film
      Member: Mary Lea Bandy, Museum of Modern Art
      Alternate: Jonas Mekas, Anthology Film Archives
Q.  At-Large
      Member: Roger Mayer, Turner Entertainment Co.
      Alternate: Milt Shefter, Miljoy Enterprises
      Member: John Singleton, New Deal Productions
      Alternate: Janet Staiger, University of Texas, Austin