SCREEN-L Archives

September 2007, Week 3


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Film and TV Studies Discussion List <[log in to unmask]>
Avi Santo <[log in to unmask]>
Mon, 17 Sep 2007 17:14:22 +0000
text/plain; charset="Windows-1252"
Film and TV Studies Discussion List <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (75 lines)
Hi all,

After a brief hiatus, In Media Res is back with a full line-up from now until Christmas. In addition to some great individual contributions (such as the pieces appearing this week), we will also feature several themed-weeks, including weeks devoted to Latino media, Nordic media, fan practices, dance, pre-1960s corporate authorship, alternative media, and media interfaces.

This week’s In Media Res line-up:


Monday, September 17, 2007 – Ethan Thompson (Texas A&M, Corpus Christi) presents: “Reading the Book of John (from Cincinnati)".

Tuesday, September 18, 2007 – Joshua Green (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) presents: “Who's selling Digital TV?”

Wednesday, September 19, 2007 – Jonathan Gray (Fordham University) presents: “The Beauty and the Ugliness of Advertising?”

Thursday, September 20, 2007 – Derek Johnson (University of Wisconsin at Madison) presents: “The Essential Recap: Memory, Amnesia, and Anticipation in Serial Television”

Friday, September 21, 2007 – Walter Metz (Montana State University at Bozeman) presents: “It’s Not TV, It’s PeePee”

Please check out these wonderful contributions and offer your thoughts via a comment.


In Media Res is envisioned as an experiment in just one sort of collaborative, multi-modal scholarship that MediaCommons will aim to foster. Its primary goal is to provide a forum for more immediate critical
engagement with media in a manner closer to how we typically experience mediated texts.

Each day, a different media scholar will present a 30-second to 3-minute clip accompanied by a 100-150-word impressionistic response. The goal is to promote an online dialogue amongst media scholars and the public about contemporary media scholarship through clips chosen for either their typicality or a-typicality in demonstrating narrative strategies, genre formulations, aesthetic choices, representational practices, institutional approaches, fan engagements, etc.

Finally, I’d really like to thank all of the curators we’ve had during our first year for generating so many thought-provoking and conversation-worthy pieces. In alphabetical order, thank you to: Kim Akkas, Hector Amaya, Tim Anderson, Mark Andrejevic, Michela Ardizzoni, Miranda Banks, Doug Battema, Ronald Becker, Marnie Binfield, Megan Boler, Chris Boulton, Patrick Burkart, Kristina Busse, Jeremy Butler, Paula Chakravrartty, Max Dawson, Richard Edwards, James Daniel Elam, Christian Erickson, Kathleen Fitzpatrick, Elizabeth Franko, Cynthia Fuchs, Joy Fuqua, Radhika Gajjala, Faye Ginsburg, Jonathan Gray, Joshua Green, David Golumbia, Sangita Gopal, Hollis Griffin, Mary Beth Haralovich, Melissa Hardie, Chad Harriss, John Hartley, Amelie Hastie, Tim Havens, Dana Heller, Heather Hendershot,  Jennifer Holt, Douglas Howard, Kevin Howley, Jason Jacobs, Henry Jenkins, Victoria Johnson, Jeff Jones, Vamsee Juluri, Davis Jung, Jyotsna Kapur, Christian Keathley, Kelly Kessler, Derek Kompare, Marwan Kraidy, Shanti Kumar, David Lavery, Tama Leaver, Dan Leopard, Elana Levine, Amanda Lotz, Moya Luckett, Madhavi Mallapragada, Dan Marcus, Vicki Mayer, Janet McCabe, Anna McCarthy, Allison McCraken, Alan McKee, Tara McPherson, Walter Metz, Joe Milutis, Jason Mittell, Susan Murray, Lisa Nakamura, Horace Newcomb, Michael Z. Newman, Kyle Nicholas, Brian Ott, Marline Otte, Laurie Ouellette, Jane Park, Dave Parry, Matthew Payne, Roberta Pearson, Alisa Perren, Michael Peterson, Arvind Rajagopal, Birgit Brander Rasmussen, Ellen Rigsby, Judd Ruggill, Avi Santo, Jeff Sconce, Katherine Sender, Sharon Shahaf, Shawn Shimpach, Louisa Stein, Craig O. Stewart, Ethan Thompson, Serra Tinic, Chuck Tryon, Mark Vail, Ira Wagman, Betsy Weiss, Eva White, Michele White, Karin Wilkins, Maurice Yacower and everyone else who has participated through their comments, encouragement and presence on the site. 


Avi Santo

Avi Santo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
3014 Batten Arts & Letters (BAL)
Department of Communication and Theatre Arts
Old Dominion University
Norfolk, Virginia 23529
(757) 683-6971
[log in to unmask]

Co-Coordinating Editor: MediaCommons: A Digital Scholarly Network
Co-Creator: Flow: Television and Media Culture

Invite your mail contacts to join your friends list with Windows Live Spaces. It's easy!
To sign off Screen-L, e-mail [log in to unmask] and put SIGNOFF Screen-L
in the message.  Problems?  Contact [log in to unmask]