SCREEN-L Archives

April 2006, Week 3


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Michael Kackman <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Film and TV Studies Discussion List <[log in to unmask]>
Fri, 21 Apr 2006 12:14:08 -0500
text/plain (45 lines)
CFP: Flow Conference 2006

The Flow Conference (Oct. 26 -29, 2006; Austin, TX) -- a series of 
roundtable discussions with topics created by Flow columnists 
organized around the future of television and media culture -- is now 
accepting submissions to join a roundtable.  Deadline for submission 
is: June 15, 2006.

The goal of the Flow Conference is conversation. There are no plenary 
sessions, and participants are asked to submit short position papers 
(not full-length essays). We want to promote discussion amongst 
scholars, members of the media industries, media activists, fans, and 
policy-makers over crucial issues related to television and media.

For the list of roundtable topics, please visit the conference 
website at:  To join a roundtable, submit a 250 word
abstract identifying the roundtable in which you want to participate 
and detailing your response to the topic statement, and a short bio, to:
[log in to unmask]

Roundtable organizers include: Chris Anderson, Tim Anderson, Patricia 
Aufderheide, Aniko Bodroghkozy, Will Brooker, Faye Ginsburg, Jonathan 
Gray, Mary Beth Haralovich, John Hartley, James Hay, Heather 
Hendershot, Henry Jenkins, Douglas Kellner, L.S. Kim, Derek Kompare, 
Shanti Kumar, Dan Leopard, Daniel Marcus, Vicki Mayer, Allison 
McCracken, John McMurria, Tara McPherson, Walter Metz, Jason Mittell, 
Megan Mullen, Horace Newcomb, Laurie Ouellette, Thomas Schatz, Joe 
Straubhaar, Sharon Strover, Frederick Wasser.

For more information, please visit our website,, or email us at 
[log in to unmask]

Michael Kackman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Radio-TV-Film
University of Texas - Austin

Screen-L is sponsored by the Telecommunication & Film Dept., the
University of Alabama: