Call For Papers:   Realities:  Images and Interpretations of the Real
Scholarship has long struggled to come to terms with the ways that moving
images depict the material world.  Even as technological, industrial, and
sociohistorical changes have affected the form and content of images,
post-structuralist theory has complicated attempts to interpret
representations of reality.  Production, representations, and reception of
"real-life" images has moved in a number of new directions as a result of
such diverse developments as the increasing improvement in
computer-generated images, the rise and popularity of reality programming
and other non-fiction media formats, and the diffusion of home video
equipment.  With such shifts in mind, The Velvet Light Trap invites papers
offering new insights on the conception, production, reception, and
interpretation of images of reality within film and television studies.  
Possible topics for this issue may include but are not limited to:
· Reality programming 
· Documentaries and ethnographies
· Virtual reality and computer-mediated communication
· Tabloid television
· Bio-pics and docudramas
· Pornography
· Talk shows
· Televised sports 
· Photography
· Scandal coverage
· Home video
· Specialty cable programs
Papers should be between 15 and 25 pages, double-spaced, in MLA style with
a cover page including the writer's name and contact information.  All
submissions will be refereed by the journal's Editorial Advisory Board.
For more information, contact Mary Caudle Beltrán (512-471-4071,
[log in to unmask]) or Karen Gustafson (512-471-4071,
[log in to unmask]).   Submissions are due January 30, 1999.
Send manuscripts to:
The Velvet Light Trap
Department of Radio-Television-Film
University of Texas at Austin
CMA 6.118
Austin, TX  78712
The Velvet Light Trap is an academic, peer-reviewed journal of film and
television studies.  The journal is published semi-annually in March and
September by the University of Texas Press.  Issues are edited alternately
by graduate students at the University of Texas at Austin and the
University of Wisconsin-Madison.  The Editorial Advisory Board includes
such notable scholars as Rhona Berenstein, Matthew Bernstein, Manthia
Diawara, Cynthia Fuchs, Herman Gray, Henry Jenkins, Lynn Joyrich, George
Lipsitz, Chon Noriega, Lynn Spigel, and Chris Straayer.
Screen-L is sponsored by the Telecommunication & Film Dept., the
University of Alabama.